Islamic Finance 

Islamic Economy Award 2018 attracts nominations from around the world

| 10 July, 2018

Dubai-UAE: 10 July, 2018 – Dubai Islamic Economy Development Centre (DIEDC) continue to receive outstanding nominations for the sixth Islamic Economy Award (IEA 2018) just two weeks prior to the scheduled close of registrations on 25 July.

IEA highlights the most innovative and advanced economic initiatives and projects around the world that foster socio-economic development and align with the core principles of the Islamic economy – responsibility, sustainability, and positive impact on society.

Since its inception in 2013, the annual award has been organised in collaboration with Dubai Chamber of Commerce and Industry (Dubai Chamber) and independently managed by Thomson Reuters under the patronage of His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice President and Prime Minister of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai, and with the supervision of His Highness Sheikh Hamdan bin Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Crown Prince of Dubai and Chairman of The Executive Council of Dubai.

Over the past five editions, IEA has received more than 1,200 applications from over 47 countries across the globe, with 45 finalists from 18 countries on five continents – Australia, North and South America, Africa, and Asia. With the number of candidates growing each year, the success of the award is a testimony to the increasing awareness of the benefits of the Islamic economy as well as the surge in economic initiatives aimed at achieving a balance between profitability and development.

IEA seeks to help consolidate Dubai’s status as the capital of Islamic economy through adopting an integrated approach that involves launching initiatives and organising events to support innovators and entrepreneurs that contribute to a diversified, sustainable and innovative economy.

The award is accepting applications across eight categories:

1. Money and Finance – Islamic banking, takaful and sukuk issuance

2. Food and Health – food and health products and services, pharmaceuticals, and cosmetics

3. Media – mass and social media, entertainment, mobile applications, and publishing

4. Hospitality and Tourism – family and medical tourism facilities and services, meetings, incentives, conferences and exhibitions (MICE), and hajj and umrah trips

5. Waqf and Endowments – private and government-led endowments

6. SME Development – technology, incubation, and training

7. Islamic Economy Knowledge Infrastructure – education, research, compliance and standardisation, thought leadership, and authorship

8. Islamic Art – fine arts, performing arts, and design

In addition, the Lifetime Achievement Award honours a prominent achiever who has been a leader and inspiration to others, and has made a significant positive impact on the Islamic economy.

The Islamic Economy Award is open to all local and international candidates who meet the criteria. For more information or to submit an application, please visit the website